Patience, Peaches, and Mutual Respect in Morocco

July 8, 2015

Today  marks the 21st day of Ramadan.

It has been in the 100s this week here in Morocco and I gave up fasting a long time ago.

I have to commend the willpower and steadfastness of Moroccans. Take my husband Mohammed for example. He never complains, barely sleeps, and works harder then anyone I know…all in 100 degree weather without eating!!!! If that is not willpower I don’t know what is. Mohammed is not overly religious, but he is spiritual. He thinks like many people do that fasting is good for the body and the soul. A period of resting if you will. We have seen him more at home this month, as many people take it easy in the afternoons, enjoy swimming, napping in the air conditioning, and other tasks that don’t exert too much energy.

And so with one hour until sundown and a napping family. I write.

I must admit I am feeling slightly guilty when ordering a smoothie this month as I did yesterday in Casablanca when I know everyone around me is fasting (yes some restaurants are still open for expats and children). I blame it on my 10 month old, who legitimately needs my attention and my energy. I speak fluent Arabic and people are always amazed by how much I have been able to integrate into my life in Morocco and Moroccan society. But there are some moments when I must reclaim my identity and drink a smoothie.

So how does an intercultural marriage work in Morocco and during Ramadan?

Mutual respect. I don’t eat around my husband during the day and he doesn’t discuss me not fasting.

So whats on our menu today, you ask? …..Patience and Peaches. 9 days to go.

Ramadan 2 Ramadan

Photography by Heidi Roland for Mushmina

2 Responses to “Patience, Peaches, and Mutual Respect in Morocco”

  1. Jeanne O Neill said

    Great post thanks for the gmail I,ll fill it out put on Facebook tomorrow. I,ll put on zillow tomorrow too. Mom

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  2. Wonderful post! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

